How to get the top committers in git?

How to get the top committers in git? Like in github:

top git commiters

But plain text is fine showing number of commits and author names/emails sorted by the number of commits.

You may use this command:

git log | grep Author | sort | uniq -c | sort -n -r

Here, count the number of commits by names/emails and show from the authors with highest number of commits.

Example output will be like

247 Author: Paul Phillips <paulp@improving.org>
 45 Author: Dale Wijnand <dale.wijnand@gmail.com>
 12 Author: Yamashita Yuu <yamashita@geishatokyo.com>
 10 Author: Gilles Cornu <git@gilles.cornu.name>
  8 Author: Josh Suereth <joshua.suereth@gmail.com>
  5 Author: Mark Canlas <github@htmlism.com>
  3 Author: Paul Phillips <paulp@users.noreply.github.com>
  2 Author: Jason Zaugg <jzaugg@gmail.com>
  2 Author: Channing Walton <channingwalton@mac.com>
  1 Author: William Ho <wwwilliamho@gmail.com>
  1 Author: Viktor Hedefalk <hedefalk@gmail.com>
  1 Author: Tymon Tobolski <i@teamon.eu>
  1 Author: Stefan Zeiger <szeiger@novocode.com>
  1 Author: Seyi Ogunyemi <micrypt@gmail.com>
  1 Author: Rocky Madden <git@rockymadden.com>
Answered by Eric Z Ma.

Eric Z Ma

Eric is a father and systems guy. Eric is interested in building high-performance and scalable distributed systems and related technologies. The views or opinions expressed here are solely Eric's own and do not necessarily represent those of any third parties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *