sssctl (8) - Linux Manuals

sssctl: SSSD control and status utility


sssctl - SSSD control and status utility


sssctl COMMAND [options]



provides a simple and unified way to obtain information about SSSD status, such as active server, auto-discovered servers, domains and cached objects. In addition, it can manage SSSD data files for troubleshooting in such a way that is safe to manipulate while SSSD is running.


To list all available commands run sssctl without any parameters. To print help for selected command run sssctl COMMAND --help.


Those options are available with all commands.

--debug LEVEL

SSSD supports two representations for specifying the debug level. The simplest is to specify a decimal value from 0-9, which represents enabling that level and all lower-level debug messages. The more comprehensive option is to specify a hexadecimal bitmask to enable or disable specific levels (such as if you wish to suppress a level).

Please note that each SSSD service logs into its own log file. Also please note that enabling "debug_level" in the "[sssd]" section only enables debugging just for the sssd process itself, not for the responder or provider processes. The "debug_level" parameter should be added to all sections that you wish to produce debug logs from.

In addition to changing the log level in the config file using the "debug_level" parameter, which is persistent, but requires SSSD restart, it is also possible to change the debug level on the fly using the sss_debuglevel(8) tool.

Currently supported debug levels:

0, 0x0010: Fatal failures. Anything that would prevent SSSD from starting up or causes it to cease running.

1, 0x0020: Critical failures. An error that doesn't kill the SSSD, but one that indicates that at least one major feature is not going to work properly.

2, 0x0040: Serious failures. An error announcing that a particular request or operation has failed.

3, 0x0080: Minor failures. These are the errors that would percolate down to cause the operation failure of 2.

4, 0x0100: Configuration settings.

5, 0x0200: Function data.

6, 0x0400: Trace messages for operation functions.

7, 0x1000: Trace messages for internal control functions.

8, 0x2000: Contents of function-internal variables that may be interesting.

9, 0x4000: Extremely low-level tracing information.

To log required bitmask debug levels, simply add their numbers together as shown in following examples:

Example: To log fatal failures, critical failures, serious failures and function data use 0x0270.

Example: To log fatal failures, configuration settings, function data, trace messages for internal control functions use 0x1310.

Note: The bitmask format of debug levels was introduced in 1.7.0.

Default: 0


The SSSD upstream -