Linux Kernel: drm/i915/guc: Don’t enable GuC/HuC in auto mode on pre-Gen11

This change "drm/i915/guc: Don’t enable GuC/HuC in auto mode on pre-Gen11" (commit 87d855e) in Linux kernel is authored by Michal Wajdeczko <michal.wajdeczko [at] intel.com> on Fri Jul 12 11:14:44 2019 +0000.

Description of "drm/i915/guc: Don’t enable GuC/HuC in auto mode on pre-Gen11"

The change "drm/i915/guc: Don’t enable GuC/HuC in auto mode on pre-Gen11" introduces changes as follows.

drm/i915/guc: Don't enable GuC/HuC in auto mode on pre-Gen11

We are about to change default setting of "enable_guc" modparam
from 0(disabled) to -1(auto). As we only want to turn on
GuC/HuC on Gen11+, keep it off for older gens.

Note that it would be still possible to enable GuC/HuC on these
old platforms using explicit "enable_guc=2" modparam.

Signed-off-by: Michal Wajdeczko <michal.wajdeczko@intel.com>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@intel.com>
Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Cc: Daniele Ceraolo Spurio <daniele.ceraolospurio@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@linux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Link: https://patchwork.freedesktop.org/patch/msgid/20190712111445.21040-2-michal.wajdeczko@intel.com

Linux kernel code changes from "drm/i915/guc: Don’t enable GuC/HuC in auto mode on pre-Gen11"

There are 10 lines of Linux source code added/deleted in this change. Code changes to Linux kernel are as follows.

 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_uc.c | 10 +++++++---
 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_uc.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_uc.c
index fdf00f1ebb57..72bbcb2597fd 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_uc.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_uc.c
@@ -58,12 +58,16 @@ static int __get_platform_enable_guc(struct drm_i915_private *i915)
    struct intel_uc_fw *huc_fw = &i915->huc.fw;
    int enable_guc = 0;

-   /* Default is to use HuC if we know GuC and HuC firmwares */
+   if (!HAS_GUC(i915))
+       return 0;
+
+   /* We don't want to enable GuC/HuC on pre-Gen11 by default */
+   if (INTEL_GEN(i915) < 11)
+       return 0;
+
    if (intel_uc_fw_is_selected(guc_fw) && intel_uc_fw_is_selected(huc_fw))
        enable_guc |= ENABLE_GUC_LOAD_HUC;

-   /* Any platform specific fine-tuning can be done here */
-
    return enable_guc;
 }

The commit for this change in Linux stable tree is 87d855e (patch).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *